| Home |
   Queens College of Guyana Florida Alumni Association
The current House System consisting of ten Houses was first introduced in 1916 when the school of about 70 students was divided into 'A' and 'B' Houses.
In 1922 formal names: Percival, Raleigh and Austin respectively, were given to the first three Houses, 'A', 'B', and 'C' based on a system of drawn lots.

'D' House was named for Governor Sir Benjamin Durban , first Governor of British Guiana in 1831-1833: Governor of Demerara ( 1824-1831).

Durban House was introduced in 1932/33.

House colours were first introduced into School ties as a mark of distinction in 1933.

Brown is the Durban House Colour